Music of the Summer

Here are my 5 fave songs on the radio here in Miami that you’re probably not hearing unless you’re either a) in a spanish-speaking country or b) watching the world cup in spanish. Heads up, depending on how sensitive you are to scantily clad women dancing suggestively you might not want to watch the actual videos. In no particular order:

1) Ricky Martin- Come With Me (Spanglish)

Maybe my favorite party anthem this summer.

2) Yandel- Moviendo Caderas

I dare you to not start dancing the second this song starts playing. Guaranteed to make me mover las caderas and menear. Always puts a smile on my face and I’m always in a better mood when it ends than when it started. It’s just the right blend of pop-y and dirty beat.

3) Wisin ft Ricky Martin & J.Lo- Adrenalina

Too bad unlike Ricky, J.Lo can’t sing for crap in spanish. I think this might be tied with Moviendo Caderas for fave song on this list. I’m listening to it while I write this and dancing like a dirty, dirty chonga.

4) Enrique Igesias ft. everyone and their mother- Bailando

Spanish- What I like about this video is that you can see a variety of dance styles. I don’t think most people east of Spain have had exposure to the rich diversity of Latin dances. The flamenco especially is beautiful Maybe that’s why I’m so unimpressed by belly dancing. I come from a people that dance flamenco and salsa. Hard to top that.

Spanglish

5) Wisin- Que Viva la Vida

This is actually an old favorite I rediscovered making this list.

I am a chonga. –hangs head in shame, drops mic– Also, Wisin and Yandel were a duo and I think they’re just working on side stuff for a while, I doubt they broke up.

Leave a comment